Quick launch summary
When a Google Drive file is identified as violating Google’s Terms of Service or program policies, it may be restricted. When it’s restricted, you may see a flag next to the filename, you won’t be able to share it, and your file will no longer be publicly accessible, even to people who have the link.
Now, the owner of the item in Google Drive will receive an email notifying them of the action taken, and alerting them of how to request a review of the restriction if they think it is a mistake.
This will help ensure owners of Google Drive items are fully informed about the status of their content, while also helping to ensure that users are protected from abusive content.
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: If a user has a file that violates Drive policies, they will receive an email with details and potential actions they can take to request a review.
An example email that would be sent when content is in violation of Drive policies
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on December 14, 2021.
- Available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as G Suite Basic and Business customers